This ad is currently paused and cannot be viewed by visitors
Ian - Prof english - Old Warley

Ian profile and its contact details have been verified by our experts


  • Hourly rate RM136
  • Response Time 24h
Ian - Prof english - Old Warley
  • 5 (1 reviews)


See English tutors

This teacher is currently unavailable

  • English
  • thesis

Ian - Old Warley - School English

Lesson location

    • At Ian's home: Old Warley

    • webcam
    • at your home or in a public area : will travel up to 20km from Old Warley

Super tutor

Ian is one of our best English tutors. High-quality profile, verified qualifications, a quick response time, and great reviews from students!

About Ian

- What kind of experience do you have?

After doing my best in my own studies, I tutor in order to encourage others to also achieve their best. I have gained several hundred hours of one-on-one teaching experience with a wide a variety of students. Although many of my them have come to me for help with GCSE and A Level exams, I have also guided students in learning Spanish and English for their own goals. I currently function freelance as well as being part of various agencies, including Global LT, Tutor Doctor, and Blue Tutors.

I also strongly believe that my wider life experiences compliment and deepen my teaching. Having grown up as what is called a "Third Culture Kid", the child of Americans raised in Spain and the UK, my life has led to a in-depth knowledge of 3 distinct cultures. The advantage I have developed therefore is an increased multicultural awareness, an increased perception of nuances in communication and learning needs, and also familiarity with the challenges of the British school and university system.

- Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?


- Where and with whom did you train?

My education in Spanish began when my family moved to Madrid at the age of 2. As they worked in a charity in the city, I attended the local Spanish school and quickly became a native speaker. At the age of 8 we moved to the UK, but my love for Spain has never decreased and we have continued to visit every single year since without fail. In Birmingham, I attended the prestigious Bromsgrove School where I attained both my GCSE's and A Levels. Here I was given several awards for Spanish and English as well as for my poetry.

Upon graduation, I spent my gap-year traveling Spain and working in the charity Organización Betel, which helps the marginalized and drug-addicted. I then went on to study at University College London for a degree in Hispanic Studies. My degree allowed me to spend my year abroad, studying at Universidad Complutense de Madrid, where I specialized in history and teaching Spanish as a second language. I then went on to graduate with highest honours, gaining a First Class degree with Oral Distinction and was included on the Dean's List.

In 2011 year I went on to study Theology and Apologetics at the University of Oxford, where I graduated with distinction.

In 2013-14 I gained a Masters degree in History from the University of Birmingham, specializing in European religious history. Writing my dissertation on Spanish religious history.

- Tell me about some of your current students.

I have worked with a variety of students of different needs and abilities. Three of my current students illustrate this: one whom I am helping prepare for Spanish GCSE, another whom I am teaching conversational Spanish from scratch, and a third whom I help edit, proofread and generally improve her university History essays.

See more

About the lesson

  • Primary
  • Secondary
  • SPM
  • +7
  • levels :




    Form 6


    Adult education





  • English

All languages in which the lesson is available :


Kind and sincere tutoring that pushes for excellence and demands hard work. Offering the uniqueness of one who has grown up in Spain and the UK, I seek to pass on the academic skills I have gained at UCL and Oxford to all my students.

- Which subject(s) do you teach?

I specialize in Spanish but also teach History, Religious Studies and English.

- Tell me about your qualifications.

History of Christianity MA, University of Birmingham (2014), Merit.

Hispanic Studies BA (Hons) from University College London (UCL, 2011) where I gained a 1st with Oral Distinction and inclusion on the prestigious Dean's List. I also won the departmental Alcalá-Galiano Prize for exceptional undergraduate work twice (2007 and 2010).

Certificate in Theological and Pastoral Studies from the University of Oxford (Wycliffe Hall) where I gained a Distinction (2012).

Diploma in Audio Engineering, SAE Institute, London (2011).

A Levels:
Spanish (A), History (A), English Literature (A), Religious Studies (A). (Highest grades achievable at the time. Prior to introduction of A* grade).

- How much do you charge?

Exact rates can be negotiated prior to starting lessons and will depend on hours required per week plus the travel distance. My going rate is £25-30 per hour. If 10 or more lessons are paid for in bulk I will offer a 20% discount. Group rates can be negotiated at a reduced price.

*Cancellations made up to 24 hours before the scheduled lesson will not be charged. Cancellations made less than 24 hours before the lesson will be charged at the lesson price minus travel (if a travel charge has been arranged).

- Where do you teach?

I normally teach at the student's house but am willing to meet at cafe's or other suitable public spaces. I live in North West Birmingham, but am willing to travel anywhere within roughly a 25-30 minute drive.

- When are you available?

I am available at various times Monday through Saturday, days and evenings. I work on a freelance basis and can therefore afford to be flexible.

- Which ages and levels do you teach?

I am most experienced with A Level and GCSE students, but am perfectly happy to tutor any age. My oldest student thus far was in her 70s!

- Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?

GCSE, A Level, IB, Undergraduate.

- Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.

I offer online tutoring for proof reading and essay writing services. These can be done remotely and would be arranged via email and Dropbox. My experience in this area has been a very successful university career at three of the world's top universities (UCL, Oxford, Birmingham) where I scored exceptional grades for my essays. Two of my essays have been published in peer-reviewed undergraduate journals, and five of my final year essays scored above 76, with one achieving a mark of 80. I also achieved a grade of 78 on an essay at Oxford.

I recently helped one student achieve a mark of 70 on her History essay at UCL, an improvement of mulitple marks.

- Do you have a personal message for students?

I will help you to push for your absolute best, always with the encouraging tone of someone who has been there before and gone through all pressure of exams, but with the experience of personal academic success and adaptability of someone who has lived and studied in various cultures.

See more


Hourly rate

  • RM136

Pack rates

  • 5h: RM680
  • 10h: RM1360


  • RM136/h

Similar English tutors in Old Warley

  • All children and adults, please come and learn the gift of understanding the beautiful English language at Bandar Puteri Puchong!

    Chee Peng

    Puchong & webcam

    5 (29 reviews)
    • RM100/h
  • Experienced  tutor to guide you :     1/- ONE TO ONE in your SPM & MUET English grammar, essay writing & vocabularies.    2/- in your business English.


    Seremban & webcam

    4.9 (12 reviews)
    • RM70/h
    • 1st lesson belanja
  • I am experienced in teaching English, Malay Language and Mathematic for primary and secondary school level.

    Private Tutor

    Selangor & webcam

    5 (9 reviews)
    • RM40/h
  • International English Teacher with 10 years experience. cover all skills reading, writing, listening and speaking. Cambridge exams preparation, TOEFL, IELTS


    George Town

    5 (10 reviews)
    • RM80/h
    • 1st lesson belanja
  • Experienced English language teacher of 30 years for ages 4 to adults. Familiar with Malaysian exams, ICGSE and OSSLT prep requirements. Online classes only.


    Subang Jaya & webcam

    5 (11 reviews)
    • RM60/h
    • 1st lesson belanja
  • A skilled tutor for, SPM, and even MUET. I shall assist you in English, Bahasa Malaysia, Biology and Sains Am.


    Malacca & webcam

    5 (8 reviews)
    • RM20/h
    • 1st lesson belanja
  • Experienced English Teacher for all ages. Customised study plan and provides online tutoring


    Kuala Lumpur & webcam

    5 (11 reviews)
    • RM50/h
    • 1st lesson belanja
  • I'm an English coach with students aged 6 - 66. If you want to improve your spoken and written English, perhaps I can help. Feel free to drop me a message to discuss your English language needs.


    Subang Jaya & webcam

    5 (15 reviews)
    • RM120/h
  • Bsc student from UPM offering Bahasa Melayu, English, Bahasa Tamil, Maths, Science and Sejarah for students from preschool to secondary school. Experienced in teaching (3 years).


    Ampang Jaya & webcam

    4.9 (6 reviews)
    • RM30/h
    • 1st lesson belanja
  • A Master Teacher of English ( Guru Cemerlang ) with a 43 years teaching trajectory in SPM, OLEVELS and IGCSE.


    Subang Jaya & webcam

    5 (61 reviews)
    • RM100/h
    • 1st lesson belanja
  • Experienced in teaching preschool and primary school including subjects Math, Bahasa Cina, Melayu and Inggeris.  Conducted online classes about 3 years .  Graduate with UPSR 7As,SPM 10As

    Yun Fan

    & webcam

    5 (11 reviews)
    • RM45/h
    • 1st lesson belanja
  • Blind tutor offering English lessons (grammar, listening, conversational, revision, and more) via Zoom

    Ruth Wang Theen

    Kuching & webcam

    5 (18 reviews)
    • RM80/h
    • 1st lesson belanja
  • Let me bring out the best in you! TEFL/TESOL qualified English language tutor emphasising on close reading and creative writing skills.


    & webcam

    5 (2 reviews)
    • RM90/h
    • 1st lesson belanja
  • Bachelor's Graduate in Special Needs Education and experienced tutor for BM, English, and Maths for Pre-school and kindergarten students in Penang. 1 year experience in teaching Kindergarten children


    Penaga & webcam

    5 (6 reviews)
    • RM40/h
    • 1st lesson belanja
  • A Dental Personnel who has 3 years of experience as an English Tutor in Sarawak and KL.  I teach in English, Malay and Mandarin :)


    Kuala Lumpur & webcam

    5 (5 reviews)
    • RM40/h
    • 1st lesson belanja
  • Experienced tutor for primary and secondary, in English language. Learning language from me will be fun yet effective.


    Shah Alam & webcam

    5 (8 reviews)
    • RM70/h
    • 1st lesson belanja
  • Experienced English substitute teacher and home tutor for primary school. Use interesting approaches for children to learn!


    Tasek Gelugor & webcam

    5 (5 reviews)
    • RM35/h
    • 1st lesson belanja
  • Psychology Fresh Grad with 4 years of tutoring experience teaches Bahasa Melayu and English from kindergarten all the way to SPM


    & webcam

    5 (7 reviews)
    • RM30/h
    • 1st lesson belanja
  • Certified foreign English tutor and TESL student with a 120-hour TESOL certification, providing 3 years of experience teaching English to all ages with a clear, neutral American accent.


    Kuala Lumpur & webcam

    5 (5 reviews)
    • RM80/h
    • 1st lesson belanja
  • 20 years Teaching English experience for students as young as 4 years old to Primary 6 of 12 years old, including nurtured Down Syndrome children, to develop reading skills and good comprehension skil


    Kajang & webcam

    5 (5 reviews)
    • RM45/h
    • 1st lesson belanja
  • See English tutors